Drive-Thru Food Drive for Hurricane Ike Relief

September 9, 2008 § 1 Comment

Help us provide emergency food assistance to those affected by Hurricane Ike.

Visit the Food Bank this week and drop off donations at our “Drive-Thru Food Drive.” There’s no need to leave your car – just drive through and a volunteer will accept your donations. It’s that easy!

Five items requested:
1) bottled water
2) granola bars
3) canned meats (pop-top lids)
4) peanut butter
5) diapers

Hours
Wednesday, September 10 – Friday, September 12, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday, September 13, 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. (Also during the HAM-up Tweet-up)
Sunday, September 14, noon – 5 p.m.

Location
Capital Area Food Bank, 8201 South Congress Avenue (between William Cannon & Slaughter Lane)

Can’t come by – donate online!
If you can’t donate items in person, please donate online and choose the box for “My donation is for Hurricane Ike Disaster Relief only” to restrict your donation to disaster relief efforts. Every $5 donated = $20 worth of nutritious food.

Thank you for your help.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Drive-Thru Food Drive for Hurricane Ike Relief

  • Lisa says:

    Well let me start off by saying, I am flooded and do NOT live by the bayou. I was SHOCKED to find my home (husband and 3 kids) stuff under water. We have had storms before, but never a flood like this one. Just so you know, unless you have flood insurance, you are basically without. I have lived in this area all my life and where I am, I would of NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD NEED FLOOD INSURANCED…. Boy was I wrong…. I have a 16 year old male , a 14 year old male and a 8 year old female. The truck the 16 year old uses was under salt water and is no longer any good. I have 3 brothers all in the same area and we lost everything. I did ( and so did they) got some things out so we would have something to wear as we destroy ou homes. I had fish in my yard and I do not live near a bayou or a stream… I was in total surprised at all the fish. I do not have flood insurance and they are saying it was a flood, which it was NOT. A flood is from rain, this was from the surge of hurricane Ike. Oh well, we will deal with it as it arrives…..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drive-Thru Food Drive for Hurricane Ike Relief at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

