Hurricane Ike Relief Update

September 12, 2008 § 3 Comments

About 7,000 pounds of food and $1,000 have been donated so far for Ike relief.

We are accepting donations around the clock through Sunday evening:

  • Bottled water
  • Canned meats (pop-top lids)
  • Granola bars
  • Peanut butter
  • Baby diapers and wipes

Donate online at www.austinfoodbank.org. You can designate your donation to Ike relief.

We’re preparing 25 lb. emergency food boxes to send to shelters. 60 boxes have been sent to shelters so far. Watch the video.

Emergency food boxes are available at the Food Bank for evacuees not staying at shelters. They can be picked up between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. (8201 S. Congress Ave, between William Cannon & Slaughter Lane)

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Hurricane Ike Relief Update

  • Patty Adams says:

    who do I contact if someone in Houston
    needs help. She is 86 years old, another
    is 89.

  • April Broward says:

    Hi, I am hoping that you can send help to the Chasewood Apartments. The address is 9717 Cypresswood Dr – close to Cypresswood and Cutten. I live there, however left Houston before Ike. My neighbors are in desperate need of help and do not know how to conact anyone because they have no power. In building 9, on the top floor there is a single mom with 3 kids and another mom with a new born baby. Downstairs in the same building is an elderly lady. I finally got ahold of Rosilyn (mom with 3 kids) today and told her to go to my apartment and get whatever water, drinks and food she needed. She told me that she is running out of water and food and is having trouble getting any because the stores are sold out. I am single, so there is not much there for her but am giving her whatever she can find. She has a charcoal grill, but can’t find charcoal to cook anything for her kids. Our complex has many people who are elderly and I seriously doubt that they will know who to reach out for help to or even if they would. Is there any way that someone can go there to assist them as quickly as possible? I know that whatever help they could get would be greatly appreciated. If someone needs to reach me, you can call me at 281-814-2274. The people that I am referring to in building 9, they would never ask for help. Even when I told her to go get the food and water out of my apartment, she was extreemly reluctant to go get anything. The kids are hungry and she is doing the best she can with what she has. Thank you,April Broward

  • I will try and get your information forwarded to the Houston Food Bank.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hurricane Ike Relief Update at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

