Meet Paul Anderson, 91, and a CAFB Lead Volunteer

November 21, 2008 § Leave a comment

paul-andersonQ: Tell us about yourself.

A: I’m 91 years old and I’ve been volunteering at the Food Bank since 1992. I was in the Air Force for almost 30 years when I retired in 1970. I went into real estate after that.

 

Q: How did you start volunteering at the Food Bank?

A: I was a member of an ex – POW group and began volunteering with them. We came every Monday, and I’ve been volunteering ever since.

 

Q: After all of these years, what keeps you coming back to the Food Bank?

A: I’ve made a lot of friends and met a lot of good people over the years. CAFB has always treated us [volunteers] well. It gives an old guy like me something to do, and it just wouldn’t be a Monday without coming to the Food Bank.

 

Q: What do you like to do in your free time?

A: When I can, I play golf. My main job, though, is keeping my yard and garden in good shape.

 

Q: Tell us about your family.

A: I was stationed in Alaska in 1942. I had a layover in Edmonton, Canada, and that’s where I met Millie. We corresponded by letter until we finally married in 1946 in Albany, Georgia. She’s been taking care of me ever since. We have three children.

 

For more information on CAFB and volunteering, click here.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meet Paul Anderson, 91, and a CAFB Lead Volunteer at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

