Volunteer Spotlight: Ruth Kaplan

April 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

ruth-caplanRuth Kaplan volunteers several hours a week in Product Recovery, where the bulk of food donations are sorted, weighed and processed into the warehouse.

Last week, at our annual “Hunger Heroes” appreciation luncheon, she spoke.  

“Today, you gave me a gift. One that means more to me than anything I ever bought, found or been given in a long time. You gave me the gift of hope, the gift of empowerment and the gift of inclusion.

For me, this luncheon is an incredible experience of community, belonging and believing; one that I have not had in many years.  Believing that I could do something positive, be a part of something positive and belong to this community of people making a positive difference in the world.

And the price you ask is so small – a few hours a week. I just wanted to thank you, and to let you know how much it means to me to be part of the Capital Area Food Bank.” 

Have you been inspired by volunteering at the Food Bank? Comment below and tell us about your experience.

Want to volunteer? Click here.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Volunteer Spotlight: Ruth Kaplan at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

