Wheels of Sharing Mobile Food Pantry serves Gause, TX

October 19, 2009 § 4 Comments

sherry2Sherry LeBlanc
Programs Director

I’m pleased to announce that we brought our Wheels of Sharing Mobile Food Pantry to Gause, TX last week.

Gause is 90 miles northeast of Austin, in Milam County, population 400. As Fred (the Mobile Pantry driver), Lauren (Social Work intern who provides food stamp assistance) and I left the Food Bank, I shared with them that I didn’t know how many families would come to this distribution in such a small town and on a rainy day. I also said that I was afraid we wouldn’t have any volunteers with the weather conditions. The people of Gause proved me wrong. We had a fantastic, successful first distribution!

In less than an hour, we provided food for 114 families, with help from 20 volunteers. We’re expecting this site to grow to serve more than 200 families each month.

While talking to clients, I learned that families were coming from all over Milam County, including Hearne and Milano. It was pouring rain throughout the distribution, so unfortunately, I was not able to take photos. Here are some photographs of the town, though, to give you an image of the diverse places that exist throughout our service area.

This is Main St., which we drove through on our way to the Community Center where the distribution was held.

gause

The distribution occurred directly behind this cemetery at the Gause Community Center.

gause3
With each new Mobile Food Pantry distribution, we serve more and more of our hungry neighbors who do not have easy access to a food pantry. I invite you to share in this amazing experience. To volunteer at a Mobile Food Pantry distribution, click here. I hope to see you soon!

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Wheels of Sharing Mobile Food Pantry serves Gause, TX

  • Mike says:

    Hey wow — great post! Kudos to everyone who volunteered or donated!
    Vivienne told us her story a while back, about working at a food bank in Reno. She ended up in a conversation w/ a woman there, and realized how similar they were in so many ways.
    Anyway I think stories like this might help inspire others to donate, volunteer, or otherwise get involved.
    I hope you find it as inspirational as I do. Thanks for reading.
    http://www.ahamoment.com/vote/vivienne

  • auto insurance tacoma

    Great article. I really enjoyed the insights…

  • DEBORAH KRUSE says:

    HELLO..IAM DEBORAH KRUSE.. MYSELF AND MY DAU.. AND DAU.N LAW.. AND 4 OTHERS IN MY HOME AND I PAY ALL MY BILLS ..IAM ON SSI AND I GET 603.00 A MO.. MY CAR IS NOT RUNING AT ALL.. I NEED SOME HELP ON SOME FOOD AND ANY THING YOU CAN HELP ME ON..I HAVE ONE THAT WORKS BUT HE DONT THINK THAT THEY HAVE TO PAY ANY THING TO HELP ME OUT WITH THE BILLS….I DONT HAVE ANY THING FOR CHRISTMAS AT ALL..MY DAU.. HUB. JUST WENT TO THE PIN FOR 8 YEARS ..BEEN GONE FOR 1 WEEK NOW…I HAVE A BAD HEART AND I HAVE TO GO TO THE DR, ALOT.. MY BP IS 160/130 ALL THE TIME BECAUSE OF ALL THE ONES THAT ARE HERE..MY DAU. AND DAU N LAW IS THE ONES THAT ARE TRYING TO TAKE CARE OF ME…..I NEED HELP WITH ANY THING I CAN GET HELP WITH…….MY NUB.. IS 512-455-9883 YOU CAN CALL ME AND TALK TO ME IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO… THANK YOU VERY MUCH…..GOD BLESS YOU ALL AND MARRY CHRISTMAS..DEBORAH KRUSE

    • Thanks, Deborah, for reaching out. I’m sorry to hear you’re having a hard time. Our website (http://www.austinfoodbank.org/get-help/) lists several ways you can receive assistance, either at a food pantry, soup kitchen, SNAP (Food Stamp) application help, etc. You can also call 2-1-1 for additional information.

      That would be a great place to start. Please let us know how we can be of further assistance.

      All the best.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wheels of Sharing Mobile Food Pantry serves Gause, TX at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

