I woke up hungry, drove to work, turned on my computer, and began my daily routine… hungry.

October 23, 2009 § Leave a comment

Headshot 006Molly Robbins
Community Events Coordinator

Fasting to lose weight, fasting to detox, fasting to find spiritual happiness. These are all human quests that can be met by avoiding food. Yesterday, I fasted for an entirely different reason. I fasted with the Muslim Students Association at The University of Texas at Austin to ‘go hungry for a day so someone else doesn’t have to.’

fastathonEvery year, the Muslim Students Association at UT sponsors a charity event called Fast-A-Thon. Students, faculty, and people outside of the UT community volunteer to fast (abstain from food and drink for one day) and are brought together in the evening to break their fast and enjoy a free dinner. For each person that fasts, up to $1 is donated to the Food Bank. 

This was my experience with hunger: I woke up hungry, drove to work, turned on my computer, and began my daily routine… hungry. I continued working through lunch and could smell the food in the workroom and down the hall—the smell of food was everywhere. I went to UT to make a presentation and all I could focus on was my hunger pains.  As someone who normally struggles to get from one meal to the next without snacking, this wasn’t easy. Throughout my day, hunger never left me. I knew at any time I could eat, that I was ultimately in control and could choose to eat and end my discomfort. So many Central Texans are left ‘fasting’ without the option to break it.

This I believe: Hunger is unacceptable. There are people (our neighbors!) who unwillingly experience hunger everyday. I’m hopeful that our community also believes that hunger is unacceptable, and with everyone’s help and support, we can end hunger.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I woke up hungry, drove to work, turned on my computer, and began my daily routine… hungry. at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

