Hungry Children. Three Wishes.

December 17, 2009 § Leave a comment

It’s the holidays, and these children from Kids Cafe, a CAFB after school hot meal program at the South Austin Boys and Girls Club, have three wishes:

Sophia, 7: “I didn’t eat breakfast today. I feel real hungry,” she says. “When I grow up I want to be a dancer and a singer, like Michael Jackson.”

Sophia’s three wishes: candy, a pickle and an ice cream party.

Amber, 13, says she wants to be a lawyer when she grows up. Every day after school, she serves food to her peers at Kids Cafe. “I like helping. It’s fun,” says Amber. “I’ve been here every day.” Amber is diabetic and needs to eat healthy food. “It’s really hard for me,” she says. “My doctor says if I go back to the hospital I might not wake up. That scared me because it’s hard to take good care of myself.”

Amber’s three wishes: make enough money to help her mom pay all the bills, go to Disney World with her family and get rid of her sickness.

Cyrina, 8: “I want to be a veterinarian when I grow up because I love working with animals,” she says. “I love Kids Cafe. It’s the best thing at Boys and Girls Club.”

Cyrina’s three wishes: a dog, a laptop computer and a million more wishes.

Do you have three wishes? What are they?
Click here to learn how you can help other hungry children this holiday season.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hungry Children. Three Wishes. at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

