Food Banker exercizes her philanthropic muscles at 26 Miles for 26 Charities Half Marathon

February 11, 2010 § 1 Comment

After work, you can find Christina Vara, CAFB Community Relations Assistant, running around town as she trains for the upcoming 26 Miles for 26 Charities Half Marathon on February 14. “I would never have classified myself as a runner,” she admits. “I was the girl in middle school who would collapse from an asthma attack, and not run. I never would have guessed that I’d be doing this, but it’s actually really fulfilling.”

It started in October when Christina ran the Livestrong Challenge 5K race to honor her boyfriend who recently won a tough battle with cancer. “I think I wouldn’t be able to do something like this if it were for my own motivations,” she says. “I need something more important, outside of myself, to make me take on something like this. I thought if I run 13 miles for the Food Bank that’d be a cool and unique way to raise awareness about hunger in Central Texas.”

Christina’s goal is to raise $350 from the community to benefit the Food Bank. “Even if I won’t be able to meet the people I’m helping to feed by running,” she says, “to know that the people in need might get a meal because I’m running is really empowering.” Despite a recent knee injury, she says she is hoping to finish in just over two hours. We’ll see you at the finish line, Christina!

If you’d like more information, and to see how she’s doing on her fundraising progress, visit her website here.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Food Banker exercizes her philanthropic muscles at 26 Miles for 26 Charities Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Food Banker exercizes her philanthropic muscles at 26 Miles for 26 Charities Half Marathon at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

