“I’ve been that child… with my special ticket for a free lunch.”

February 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

Jennie Trower
CAFB Ambassador

I love the work I do. I believe in the Food Bank’s mission and want to tell people about it every chance I get.  In this age of non-stop electronic communication — cell phones, texting, Facebook, Twitter — it’s a refreshing change to connect face-to-face with people around such an important issue like hunger.

My most recent speaking engagement was at St. Michaels Episcopal Church for the Souper Bowl of Caring Food & Fund Drive. I talked to two different Sunday School classes, and seeing the children decorate the food donation bags was heart-warming. Because more than half of AISD students qualify for free- or reduced-price lunch, these volunteers were helping others just like themselves, in their own community. Children whose parents have to choose between paying rent and putting food on the table. Children who might get breakfast, but don’t know where dinner is coming from.

I’ve been that child, waiting in line at elementary school with my special ticket for a free lunch. And I was in that family, with the single mom who, from time to time, relied on the food pantry at a local church to stretch the end-of-the-month food budget. I’m grown up now, and a mom myself. As I look at my own son, it saddens me to think about the thousands of hungry children in Central Texas, and the parents struggling to feed them. It’s heartbreaking, it’s unnecessary and it’s unacceptable.

We can do something about it. We can donate, educate and advocate. If we care, we can change the face of hunger.

I volunteer at the Capital Area Food Bank, and I love what I do.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “I’ve been that child… with my special ticket for a free lunch.” at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

