Real Stories: During the Summer, We Need More Help from the Food Bank

July 15, 2010 § 2 Comments

By Adriana Montez

Sara and her daughters, Abby 10, Melissa, 8, rely heavily on the food pantry, especially during the summer months. “The food here is very important for my family, especially since it is summer,” she explained. “We need more food at home to compensate for the food my kids usually eat when they’re at school. The food pantry helps our groceries stretch a little further.”

Pictured: Abby, 10, Sara, 33, and Melissa 8

Sara Frias, 33, decided to relocate her family from a small town outside of San Marcos to the city due of the social services it offered. “We decided to move here because we needed to live in the housing authority program,” she explained. “We ended up living in a better place, too. I love San Marcos.”

Sara is currently in school at the Le Cordon Bleu receiving her pastry chief degree. She heard about the Hays County Area Food Bank, a CAFB partner, from several friends and neighbors. “I’ve been coming here for about seven years now,” she said.  “My overall experience here is very good. We get meats, breads and sweets—my kids like the sweets.”

We asked Sara if her family has completely run out of food before. “Yes we have,” she admitted. “But we just called the food bank. They gave us an emergency food box. We don’t tend to use that often.”

Sara plans to use the food pantry as a resource for only a couple more years. “In the next couple years, I see myself being self-sufficient and having my own land,” she said. “But I would like to say thank you for all the help in the meantime. I don’t think there is anything better than to help someone feed their family.”

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Real Stories: During the Summer, We Need More Help from the Food Bank

  • Marie Warner says:

    Hi Sara, I am a mom of 2 daughters also. I wanted to make sure you have a roof over your head and a home for your girls. Let me know if there is anything you need, I would like to help you girls out if possible.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Real Stories: During the Summer, We Need More Help from the Food Bank at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

