Real Stories: My Cooking…

August 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

What does your cooking do?  Does it set off fire alarms and scare your friends? Does it inspire your creativity? Does it provide relief for a new mom or older adult friend who needs help at mealtime?

Lula Bullock, one of many clients relying on the “Wheels of Sharing” Mobile Food pantry, says “My cooking brings people together.”

After 20 years of cooking for the Austin Independent School District, Lula, 74 and retired, still loves to cook. She says, “I’m always preparing meals for my family and my congregation at church. I welcome anyone who visits my home to eat.”

Lula says she comes to the “Wheels of Sharing” Mobile Food Pantry because her Social Security check isn’t enough. “I have two grandchildren to feed,” she says. “I was told about Turner Roberts Recreation Center Mobile Food Pantry from a friend. The location isn’t too far from my house,” Lula explains. “I would like to thank everyone for the help,” she says. “There are a lot of people who need even more help than me right now.”

Learn more about “Wheels of Sharing” Mobile Food Pantry.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Real Stories: My Cooking… at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

