Real Stories: Esmeralda helps her community and family in times of need.

October 18, 2010 § Leave a comment

Esmeralda says she started visiting the food pantry at Christian Life Church about three months ago. She and her husband are unable to work right now. “I have a son that has a mental illness and is homebound. That requires me to be home with him. My husband doesn’t have work today or tomorrow. He’s just waiting for his boss to call him to say what they have available. His boss is having a hard time, too, just trying to keep up the little business that he has,” she says.

She says the food she receives from local food pantries is very important to her and her family during this time of need. “I’ve always been employed, and when I am employed I do the same thing. I help out. And when I need assistance, I’m glad that the food pantries are here for me,” says Esmeralda.

Although Esmeralda is struggling, she says it is important to help others as well. “I was in a situation a week ago at another food pantry, and there was a man who could only take what he could carry. I gave him a dollar so he could carry more on the bus. We all have to take care of each other as a community,” says Esmeralda.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Real Stories: Esmeralda helps her community and family in times of need. at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

