Here I am… Helping. Learning. Growing.

January 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

On the MLK Day of Service, a chance to start the year off right by making an impact in your community and celebrate the legacy of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., we thought it would be fitting to share a blog post written by one of our volunteers.

by Jenn Cowan

As a new self-proclaimed Austinite, waiting for the semester at Texas State University to begin, I decided it was time to get involved in something meaningful.

So, what to do in one of the fastest growing cities in America?

Volunteer.

I was lucky enough to find an opportunity on volunteermatch.com one night while checking my email.  With so many different organizations from which to choose, I singled out the Capital Area Food Bank of Texas.  Once I learned how much of an impact the Food Bank has on our local and surrounding area, it was a no-brainer.  Volunteer my time; learn the ins-and-outs of online marketing for a successful non-profit; network with amazing people; and give back to the community from which I am now proud to be part of.

How could I not?

Each day, as I make my way to the front door, I am reminded of the compassion that still exists, as it brightens my day to see volunteers loading a truck or separating food. As I continue into the building, I am greeted with smiling faces (if the energy from each individual could be tapped somehow, I think the folks at CAFB could make tons of money as a supplier). I make my way up the stairs and into my cubical to begin my day.

Before I explain what I do as a marketing intern, let me start with a brief explanation of CAFB’s impact on our community. The Capital Area Food Bank of Texas provides food and grocery products to more than 350 Partner Agencies in 21 Central Texas counties.  Last year, CAFB provided more than 25 million pounds of food and its service area covers 19,064 square miles in Central Texas.

It was unbeknownst to me that our Food bank services so many surrounding counties in our area. That’s pretty substantial, right? Over 25 million pounds of food within a year, really? That’s fantastic!

Now, back to my day.  As an online marketing intern, it’s my duty to help develop an online presence for the Food Bank Check out some of the new and cutting edge things we’re doing.

Here I am… Helping. Learning. Growing.

Now, what will you do?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Here I am… Helping. Learning. Growing. at Capital Area Food Bank of Texas Blog.

meta

